Our History

Chapter #38 of the International Association of Arson Investigators
As at January 1, 2010

Alberta received its Charter from the IAAI on April 2, 1981.

In the fall of 1980, the inaugural meeting to establish the Alberta Chapter was held in the AMA auditorium in Edmonton, Alberta. The individuals at this meeting applied to the International Association of Arson Investigations (“IAAI”) for a Charter.

At the same time, individuals in Southern Alberta applied for a Charter. As only one charter is given to each Province or State, the IAAI Northern and Southern regions acted independently, with the Alberta Chapter as the governing body. The presidents for the Alberta Chapter came alternately from the past presidents of the southern, then the northern region.

The last president of the southern region was Don Ogg. In approximately 1994, the southern region became inactive, and as a result, both regions amalgamated into the format we know today – one Board of Directors for the whole province.

On July 23, 1990, the Alberta Chapter was incorporated under The Societies Act as the “Fire Investigation Association of Alberta.” The founding members were Randolph Langley, Richard Hawkins, Keith Bett, David Gustavson, Mike Johnston, and Pamela Loy (Graham).

Click here to see a list of long-time members, 30 + years.


Our membership draws from
private and public fire investigators.


For a full list of upcoming seminars,
browse our course calendar.


Stay up-to-date with all the latest
FIAA news and course postings.